Minority Religious Communities Count
Hindus (in %) 81.4
Muslims (in %) 13.4
Christians (in %) 2.3
Sikhs (in %) 1.9
Buddhists (in %) 0.8
Jains (in %) 0.4
Others (in %) 0.7
Unspecified 0.1

The Ministry of Minority Affairs, a ministry of the Government of India established in 2006. It is the apex body for the central government's regulatory and developmental programmes for the minority communities in India, which include Muslims, Sikhs, Christians, Buddhists and Zoroastrians (Parsis) notified as minority communities under Section 2 (c) of the National Commission for Minorities Act, 1992.[1] As of May 2010, head of the ministry is the cabinet minister Salman Khursheed.

The ministry is also involved with the linguistic minorities and of the office of the Commissioner for Linguistic Minorities, representation of the Anglo-Indian community, protection and preservation of non-Muslim shrines in Pakistan and Muslim shrines in India in terms of the Pant-Mirza Agreement of 1955, in consultation with the Ministry of External Affairs.[3] The Minister in charge is also Chairperson of the Central Wakf Council, India, which manages the running of the State Wakf Boards.

1. Constitutional and Statutory Bodies :

    * Central Wakf Council (CWC)

    * National Commission for Minorities (NCM)

    * Commissioner for Linguistic Minorities (CLM)

2. Autonomous Bodies :

    * Maulana Azad Education Foundation (MAEF)

3. PSUs and Joint Ventures :

    * National Minorities Development and Finance Corporation (NMDFC)

   A NPC Initiative                                    Copyright ICST 2010 Powered by Indian Centre for Social Transformation and Wizards Technologies